IE Silverlight vanishing trick!

Not really sure what caused this to happen?
 

I had just configured the VS 2008 development environment on a machine I dont normally use to use the November 2009 version of the Silverlight Toolkit. Having created a new C# Silverlight Navigation Application and put together some basic code I hit F5 and waited for my RIA to fire up so that I could debug it. What I was presented with was dialog box with the error message – ‘Unable to start debugging. Cannot locate Microsoft Internet Explorer.

I hadn’t changed any of my browers settings so I made sure that IE was set as the default browser, I checked that I could open up IE and do some general surfing and I even made sure that the Browse With… worked from within VS. Everything was OK except my ability to run from F5. A few minutes of research pointed me to a (translated) page which highlighted the problem and potential solution.

Navigating to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\App Paths I found that the iexplore.exe key was missing. So here’s what I did:

  1. Added the iexplore.exe key to the  registry.
  2. Changed the (Default) REG_SZ value to C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
  3. Added a new REG_SZ value called Path and set it to C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer
  4. Restarted my Visual Studio.

After making these changes, opening my project and hitting F5 it was working again. I have no idea what caused the Key to be removed in the first place but I can only think it was the Silverlight Toolkit installation process that did it???

Leave a Reply

