Package Errors

Errors when loading my .dtsx file?
 
I have been generating an ETL process recently within Visual Studio that required the Connection Manager to store a link to a SQL Server database located on  remote machine. The security setup for this database meant that I was accessing it using the SQL Server security (username / password). My problem occured each time I loaded my solution into Visual Studio as I would get the following error message;
 
Error 1 Error loading Dimensions.dtsx: Failed to decrypt protected XML node "DTS:Password" with error 0x8009000B "Key not valid for use in specified state.". You may not be authorized to access this information. This error occurs when there is a cryptographic error. Verify that the correct key is available.    
As well as the error message my Data Flow Task items wouldall appear with the yellow warning icon in the bottom right corner indicating that there is a problem with the task item. Fortunately I was able to find a KB article on this one to help resolve my problem – http://support.microsoft.com/kb/918760  – I chose Method 3 and now each time I open my solution file I just have to provide my password and the dtsx file opens without any errors.
 
To get rid of the warning icons in your Data Flow Tasks, on the Control Flow tab, you can either edit the existing Data Flow task or just disable and then enable it again. Providing there aren’t any other errors in your Control Flow item the warning icon will disappear.
Leave a Reply

