The request failed with HTTP status 403: Forbidden.

The request failed with HTTP status 403: Forbidden.
Following an unsuccessful Windows Update to a client’s server (not performed by me I hasten to add Smile) I started to get these 403 errors when trying to access the Report Server via the web client. The Micsoroft CRM application that was also sitting on the server and utilising the Report Server was also displaying errors when I tried to view the reports that are included in the system.
 
After doing some Googl-ing I found someone else who had encountered a similar problem and the following solution also worked for me;
  • Within IIS on the server hosting your Reporting Services website, right click the ReportServer virtual directory and select Properties…
  • On the Virtual Directory tab select the Configuration… button
  • On the Mappings tab of the Application Configuration dialog take a look at the box containing Wildcard application maps (order of implementation).
  • Mine was missing the c:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727\aspnet_isapi.dll entry. I also compared this setting against a similar server which had a working Report Server.
  • I add the c:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727\aspnet_isapi.dll entry to the list and then restarted IIS.

Thankfully, this was a successful solution and my access to the Report Server was restored. My reports view in Microsoft CRM had not quite been resolved because I was being shown a different error – Reports.config has invalid schema, and could not be loaded. This issue is discussed in this blog entry.

Leave a Reply

