Visual Studio Run Time Error and

Could not load file or assembly ‘AjaxControlToolkit’ or one of its dependencies. Access is denied
 
This one was a bit of an odd one! Whilst trying to debug an ASP.NET 2.0 Web Application from within VS 2005 I started to get these errors, but I couldn’t figure out what I had changed that caused my homepage to stop loading when it had been working fine 5 minutes before. I tried recycling the application pool, restarting Visual Studio and banging my head against the wall.
 
So I retraced my steps and realised that I had been amending the <identity> element in my web.config file. I had set the impersonation attribute to True and set the username and password elements accordingly. The issue was that the domain user I had specified was not being recognised on the development server, for some reason that I am still trying to phathom. To solve my problem I had a couple options;
  • Change the domain user so that they have more permissons.
  • Add the domain user to the local administrators group on the development server.

Having made the change and recycled the application pool for good measure, I was able to access my webpage once again.

Leave a Reply

