Some problems are really well hidden!

error ASPPARSE: Could not load type… when building a Web Deployment Project
 
Whilst trying to build a Web Deployment project for my ASP.NET 2.0 Web Application I kept getting this strage compiler error that referenced a page that did not exist in my project. After looking at numerous sites where a similar issue occurred I finally came across this one that solved my problem – http://mis.cellaneo.us/PermaLink,guid,33daa7bb-101b-45ce-a520-a60a1bfa062e.aspx
 
Basically, an old page that did exist in my web project but had not been completely deleted was still hanging around and needed permanently removing – it had been excluded from the project but not removed. Once I had deleted the ‘hidden’ file I was able to successfully compile my web deployment project.
Leave a Reply

